A Little Bit of History

Posted Monday October 01, 2018

Posted By: Jenna Ujiye

Category: Blog

The current municipality was created in 1999 by the amalgamation of the Town of Kincardine, the Township of  Kincardine, and the Township of Bruce.Inverhuron
The Beach at Inverhuron
Bruce Township, Inverhuron & Underwood
The hamlet of Underwood was founded in 1856, and among original industry included a shoe shop, harness shop, blacksmith shop, sawmill, grist mill, cheese factory, general store and a post office. The Township of Bruce remains a rural focal point within the Municipality, as well as in the remaining County of Bruce. Underwood is still home to several businesses, including an antiques/gift shop, motorcycle shop, hunting/angling supply shop, and also offers a satellite Municipal Administration Centre. Bruce Telecom, formerly Bruce Municipal Telephone System, has been in operation since 1910, offering local telephone, internet and digital cable service to the region. Inverhuron Provincial Park, which first opened its gates to the public in 1959, and forced to close in 1976, is now once again open to the public, and offers a wonderful family camping experience, not to mention the hidden gem of white sand beaches! Bruce Power, formerly Douglas Point Nuclear Generating Station, still thrives on the shores of Lake Huron, and employs upwards of 3500 people from the surrounding communities.
The hamlet of Inverhuron is a thriving tourist destination, as well as home to many year round residents. The Inverhuron Provincial Park re-opened to the public in 2006, and continues to be a popular choice for both campers and nature enthusiasts, as it offers not only excellent overnight facilities, but fabulous nature trails and exhibits. Gorgeous white sand beaches also add a special element to this area- definite must see!
 Countryside in Kincardine Township
Countryside in Kincardine Township
Kincardine Township, Armow & Bervie
In the early 1900’s, Bervie boasted 2 sawmills, a chopping mill, blacksmith shop, a shore repair shop, frame store, two brick stores, a tobacco shop, a school, several churches, a hotel and only a few houses. Amid the inevitable change and the passing of old landmarks there are signs of the new and more modern developments. Today, Bervie is home to several mechanical trade shops, including a masonry training centre for the local high school, and is still a favourite place for farming. Bervie remains firm as a small but vital community. Armow lies in the centre of a fine agricultural community, which was settled almost wholly by Anglo-Saxons. Their descendants still predominate in the area but farms have greatly increased in size. The Township Hall was built in 1910 and served for social events as well as for meetings of Council. In 1966, when the local school was closed, the Township Council purchased the old school for their meeting place. These offices have since been closed due in part to amalgamation.
 Mural in Tiverton
Mural in Tiverton


Settled in 1850, the Village waited until 1860 to become known by the name of Tiverton, at which time the Post Office also opened. First industry included a Pot & Pearl-ash Factory, followed by a Wool-carding Mill and Grist Mill. A major fire in 1897 caused major loss to a large portion of the business district. Today, the lost buildings have been replaced by visually pleasing and now historical structures, and remain very well maintained to attract commercial tenants. The population today in Tiverton boasts 850, and can accredit this increase to surrounding industry (Bruce Power), as well as its small town appeal.
Town of Kincardine
First known as Penetangore, Kincardine, with its strong Scottish heritage, was named after Governor General James Bruce, as was the former Kincardine Township. The first Bruce County post office opened its doors here. The first county settlers arrived at the mouth of the Penetangore River in 1848 transported by the ship, "The Fly". Allan Cameron built and ran a hotel, while his brother-in-law, William Withers, built a dam and opened a sawmill. Kincardine is unique in that its history is a living, breathing part of the community. From its architecture to its lighthouse to the historic Walker House, it is visible everywhere. The Town of Kincardine was incorporated in 1858. Today, the former Town of Kincardine boasts of many treasured amenities waiting to be discovered. Idyllic surroundings, captivating lifestyle, festive events, and live theatre continue to amuse and beguile residents and visitors, keeping them coming back for more!

Post a Comment

Character count: